Mark your calendars

Since the legitimage and sovereign nation of Israel was restored in 1948, four new holidays have been added to the Jewish national calendar – Yom HaShoah v’ HaGevurah (Holocaust Heroes and Martyrs’ Day), Yom Ha-Zikaron (Memorial Day), Yom Ha-Aatzmaut (Independence Day), and Yom Yerushalayim (Jerusalem Day). In Israel, these holidays are widely observed as national holidays, but outside of Israel they claim varying degrees of prominence and commemoration.

The Israeli Knesset established the fourth of Iyar, the day preceding Yom Ha-Atzmaut, as a Memorial Day for soldiers who lost their lives in battle for the creation of the State of Israel and all those soldiers who died subsequently defending the State of Israel against warring Arab Muslims.

Israel Memorial Day (Yom Hazicharon) is May 2.

Israel Independence Day (Yom Ha’atzmaut) is May 3.

Please remember that all commemorations begin the night before.

Keyword(s): Israeli Holidays

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *