Artifical Countries

With the exception of Egypt, all the countries of the Middle East are artificial creations. After World War I, England and France carved up the Ottoman Empire, with England retaining what are now Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Israel and Iraq, and France being in possession of what are now Syria and Lebanon.

In 1917, the Balfour Declaration, proclaimed by the British mandatory power, established all of Palestine — east and west of the Jordan River — as the reconstituted homeland for the Jewish people. This was ratified by the 52 countries of the League of Nations.

Insistence that these are Arab lands and that the Jews are “occupiers” is a notion that has been repeated so often and for so long that most of the world has come to believe it. But it has no basis in fact at all. It is a myth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *